Sweet Baby Cheeses

One thing I am definitely going to miss about living in Portugal is the cheese. It is so good I decided it needs its very own blog post as a dedication of my love. I’ve tasted many cheeses but this one is by far the best. It’s a semi-hard goats cheese from the Serra da Estrela region of Portugal, near Filipa’s village. I have had to restrain myself from eating it every day on toast for breakfast (like Filipa does). It’s been hard but with 9 days to go until we leave Portugal for a while, I’m not holding back!

The flavour of this cheese is strong but not overpowering or too tangy like some goats cheeses can be. It’s a semi-hard cheese yet it’s so deliciously creamy at the same time.

Better still is the discovery of the combination of strong black coffee with cheese. O.M.G. When Filipa first mentioned it, I baulked and thought that it didn’t really sound that appealing but after tasting this combination, it really is a match made in heaven. You have to try it. The coffee and the cheese flavours compliment each other perfectly. Forget red wine – cheese and coffee were meant to be together. Am I the last person on earth to know about this?

I can’t end this post without mentioning the breads here either. Of course, bread or pão is a staple food of Portugal. It is the heart of Portuguese cuisine. One type of bread is broa or corn bread. It has a thick crunchy crust with a dense but moist interior and obviously is made from corn. I also love the soft, light and airy breads with their crunchy crusts. I also love the small vans that drive around the villages every day selling their warm loaves from the back of the van. Nothing beats warm bread.

Corn bread on the left

In Seia, near Filipa’s village, there is a large museum devoted entirely to pão. Inside the museum you will discover how the different breads are made, the cycle of bread from the land to the oven, information about the milling process, the history of bread in Portugal and bakeries from the old times. For bread lovers, this place is a must see!

Ahhh Portugal, I love you and I’m going to miss you….but for the sake of my waistline I must leave you….but only for a while.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Baby Cheeses

  1. I’d be happy to sacrifice my waist line for that cheese (oh, but I’ve already sacrificed it to about 400 other things like cake, bread, pork crackling …)

  2. A woman after my own heart, thank you for this post dedicated to delectable treasures. Portugal is at the top of my list to spend time. I will definitely be trying coffee and cheese!!

Leave a Reply

